I’m on an online dating site. My disability is on there, too.

Many people with disabilities find that online dating can be a difficult process at best. Tell me about it. (That last part was sarcasm.)

I spent six months on a popular, highly ranked online dating site without indicating in my profile that I had a disability. While my disability is nearly invisible, I walk with a cane — which is visible when I meet someone.

The first man I met online also had a disability. We dated for a couple of months and parted as friends. During the next four months, I met four other men online and in person. I told all but one of them about my disability before I met them, yet none of them asked me out on a second date.

So, I have decided to do an experiment to see if my walking with a cane has any effect on the responses I get on the online dating site. This morning, I added the following information to my online dating profile: “I walk with the help of a cane, which seems to make some men on online dating sites feel uncomfortable. If you would be uncomfortable dating a woman who uses a cane, please refrain from responding to my profile.”

I’ll let you know what happens.

 

4 thoughts on “I’m on an online dating site. My disability is on there, too.

  1. When some one searches for his necessary thing, so heshe desires to be available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over here. dbekeddffcdd

    Like

Leave a comment